JustOneMorePet

Every Pet Deserves A Good Home…

Speak for Me a poem written in protest of animal abuse

Speak for Me a poem written in protest of animal abuse

Speak for Me a poem written in protest of animal abuse

I haven’t seen anyone for days.

My bones ache for attention,

As I see you walk away.

It didn’t use to be that way.

I guess I got to be too much to handle

As I now sit alone in my deserted land.

I have no voice of my own.

I need you to speak for me.

The days are long as I waste away.

Nowhere to go, I pull at the chains,

Welts at my neck, blood, misery and pain.

Can anybody speak for me?

As hunger rots my core, I wonder where you are,

And why you have left me here to suffer.

What agony did I cause to deserve this punishment?

Can anybody speak for me?

Do you even remember my name?

When your pellets silence my

Howling cries in the night?

With not even a grassy patch

To rest my weary head upon,

Dirt is all that remains from my constant pacing.

Can someone please speak for me?

I lay here dying and unloved.

As I am being tossed away with the banana peels

And other gluttonous garbage,

I needed you to speak for me.

Lauren Roller
Hewitt, TX

Take me to the home page

Source:  the Animal Rescue Site

Read more stories!

Support the No Kill Movement and be an advocate to toughen abuse Laws!

Visit North Shore Animal League America – World’s largest no-kill rescue and adoption organization  All Shelters and Rescues should be No Kill!!

June 17, 2011 - Posted by | Adopt Just One More Pet, Dogs, Fostering and Rescue, If Animlas Could Talk..., Just One More Pet, Man's Best Friend, NO KILL NATION, Outreach for Pets, Patrick, Pet Abuse, Pet Adoption, Pet Friendship and Love, Pets, Stop Animal Cruelty, Stop Euthenization, Toughen Animal Abuse Laws and Sentences, We Are All God's Creatures | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Under the sun:
    .
    Animals walk on two legs four,
    all are an animal at the core.

    abuse is given, to two legged one,
    accusing words given, they think its fun,

    Only love comes , from two legged one,
    bows down low ,under the sun,

    who is the one, who has two,
    an animal also, called the zoo.

    abuse is given, zoo gives none.
    All of us animals under the sun.

    Comment by Jonathan Hughes | June 17, 2011 | Reply

  2. HOW:
    OH dog who seems silent, but speaks a lot,
    those that think they don’t, don”t know squat.

    whines, and subtle sounds, and sighs,
    you know when your pooch cries.

    ,and is content belly up to pat,
    One cannot deny, they really like that,

    Not a word spoken, eyes look at you,
    you know, what they wants to do.

    Abuse is given, when we don’t see this,
    the fun with them we would miss,

    They can’t say I want that part,
    same thing young, don’t see in art.

    abuse given, when from them taken,
    call that love, they are forsaken.

    Comment by Jonathan Hughes | June 17, 2011 | Reply

  3. […] Speak for Me a poem written in protest of animal abuse […]

    Pingback by Our Weasel Of The Week Nominees!–06.02.15 « JustOneMorePet | June 3, 2015 | Reply

  4. […] Speak for Me a poem written in protest of animal abuse […]

    Pingback by Our Weasel Of The Week Nominees! – 06.02.15 | askmarion | June 3, 2015 | Reply

  5. […] Speak for Me a poem written in protest of animal abuse […]

    Pingback by Copycat Dog Muzzle Duct Taping Crime? « JustOneMorePet | June 12, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

